• Words on bathroom walls by Julia Walton – Book review
  • Words on bathroom walls by Julia Walton – Book review

    Words on bathroom walls by Julia Walton – Book review

    You can’t possibly know what it means to doubt everything. To walk into a room full of people and pretend that it’s empty because you’re not actually sure if it is or not. To never feel completely alone even when you are.

    Synopsis

    Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.

    Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.

    Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret. (Source)

    Review


    They don’t know what it’s like to be haunted by your own mind. They don’t understand the mad desire to make the voices stop even if it means doing what they tell you to.

    This book is one of my favourites.

    Words on bathroom walls tells the story of Adam who has schizophrenia and is taking the experimental medication ToZaPrex to help him control his mental illness. On top of this he’s starting a new school where he tries to hide his illness as much as he can. He’s also seeing a therapist but Adam refuses to talk so instead he writes letters.

    I must say I had my doubts before starting this book. I have tried to read so many books about it or that handles the mental illness yet they’re never any good, or they’re just very disrespectful.

    But this book is just perfect. I deal with it myself & used to have a friend with schizo who unfortunately took his own life and this book gives you a proper look on how living with schizophrenia is like and what people with it have to go through everyday.

    If you want to know more about what it is like to live with schizophrenia then I totally recommend you to read this wonderful book. If I had the money I would buy a million copies and give them away, this is a very important book.

    As someone who’s dealing with it I’d like to thank the author,
    thank you for writing a book that handles schizophrenia in a respectful way.

    Follow:
    %d bloggers like this: